#1 keysersoze

keysersoze

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 243 posts

Posted 10 September 2007 - 10:32 PM

Hi there!
I'm thinking of going down to London to see a couple of plays (not musicals) in Nov/Dec time and wondered what y'all would recommend. Also, which shows i would be possible to get tickets for at short(ish) notice?
I am a novice London theatre-goer; so far confined to Edinburgh and Glasgow theatre due to the fact that it is not practical for a 17 year old high school student to travel to London frequently.
I have a 15-strong wishlist, so I really need to narrow it down. My list includes the RSC London season, the NT season, the Royal Court season and things such as Macbeth, Swimming with Sharks and Glengarry Glen Ross. However, the Donmar Othello is not on my list as I may be going as part of a school trip.
I probably sound rather naive and annoying, but I ask you to forgive me.
Any feedback would be much appreciated.
Thanks,
Steve.

#2 Alexandra

Alexandra

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1779 posts

Posted 11 September 2007 - 10:16 AM

You don't sound naive or annoying - it's a perfectly reasonable question.

Macbeth is wonderful, though whether it will be as good in that space remains to be seen. Much Ado at the NT with Simon Russell Beale and Zoe Wanamaker should be great (starts on 10 December so it may be too late for you).

#3 Ian

Ian

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 824 posts
  • Interests:Theatre, cats and photography principally.

Posted 11 September 2007 - 10:43 AM

QUOTE(Alexandra @ Sep 11 2007, 11:16 AM) View Post
You don't sound naive or annoying - it's a perfectly reasonable question.

Macbeth is wonderful, though whether it will be as good in that space remains to be seen. Much Ado at the NT with Simon Russell Beale and Zoe Wanamaker should be great (starts on 10 December so it may be too late for you).

Dealers Choice is on at the Menier Chocolate Factory until 17th November.