14 replies to this topic

#1 MsLaGuardia

MsLaGuardia

• Full Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Posted 21 January 2008 - 05:17 PM

Hello smile.gif

Everybody was so helpful when I posted last year about where to look for National Youth Theatre funding - I thought I'd ask for some more advice.

I'm currently in my third year of University, studying drama and theatre studies. I will have one more year after this one where I will gain a masters degree. My dream would be to go to drama school after my course - but as do most things in life - this all comes down to money. I just can't afford to attend a drama school - even with dada awards etc it's just not something I can afford. For a one year Post Grad course it's going to be somewhere around 14 thousand for the course fees alone. Sigh.

I'm trying everything I can to get into acting, such as NYT and Old Vic New Voices - I'm already a member of NYT and I've been invited to audition for Old Vic New Voices. I guess my next step is to try and get myself an agent...

I perform in shows at university and before the end of this year I'm hoping to perform in a production taking place on a professional stage. I'm assuming this would be a perfect situation to invite an agent to....but my next question is just how?

Is it really as simple as the things I've read - just ask them to show up? Do you send them tickets in the hope they'll use them, or do you just write a letter and give them the theatre address? I know these questions sound silly - but there is never anyone who can truly answer them for some reason. So I ask you...whatsonstage members - how did you get your agent?

And is there anyone who has 'made it' without the need to train professionally? I understand the importance of training, I really do - I just can't afford the costs - there HAS to be another way, there just has to be....doesn't there?

Thank You for your time! x

#2 Haz

Haz

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1264 posts