987 replies to this topic

#791 Azincat

Azincat

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 117 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 10:32 AM

Here is an interview with Ben defending the TV casting show format (it appears this is largely in response to Joanna Page's comments):

http://www.thestage....defends-musical

"Forster, who has also appeared in Thriller Live, said: “I have done quite a lot of theatre. I did not go into this competition [Superstar] as an amateur, I went in as a professional. But musical theatre is becoming more commercial and is a different thing than it was ten years ago. So I think to stay in the game, to stay fresh and on top of your career, a move like this could work.”
He added: “It was a really big risk, and it is hard putting yourself in that situation as a professional person. But I am really glad I took it and it paid off. In a difficult world we all need to raise our games and our profiles in any way we can.”

#792 Titan

Titan

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3375 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 12:55 PM

The thing about the Joanna Page article is has she not considered she only gets roles due to being "that girl off Gavin and Stacey". When you have some name/face recognition that can out weigh whether you are the best person for the part. It's highly likely she will have got roles over jobbing actors because she's is off the telly.

#793 Priscilla's heel

Priscilla's heel

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 80 posts

Posted 28 July 2012 - 02:01 PM

View PostTitan, on 28 July 2012 - 12:55 PM, said:

The thing about the Joanna Page article is has she not considered she only gets roles due to being "that girl off Gavin and Stacey". When you have some name/face recognition that can out weigh whether you are the best person for the part. It's highly likely she will have got roles over jobbing actors because she's is off the telly.