#101 Orchestrator

Orchestrator

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1028 posts

Posted 27 March 2007 - 10:59 PM

QUOTE(emkay @ Mar 27 2007, 07:58 PM) View Post
I don't know exactly what happened with Emma, whether the producers forced her out or if she quit.  If she did quit, though, I understand why, because she was, in the public's eyes, being cast as the interloper.  It's not fair, and it's not a position I would want to be in if I were Emma.

I'm no expert in employment law but I suspect Fisher's comments on live TV could be argued as Constructive Dismissal.
Ooh, that Bernadette Shaw - what a chatterbox!

#102 emkay

emkay

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 28 March 2007 - 03:58 AM

I don't know.  Saying you want to do something or think you are able to does not automatically mean you will be allowed to.  ALW was still saying six shows after Connie was saying she could do eight.  How events transpired after that, who knows?  Not that it even matters now, anyway.  Emma went on to other jobs, and Connie did SOM, and now she's back to six shows.  You may be able to say she was naive, but I don't think she was hubristic or malicious.  She's human, and she should be allowed to learn from her mistakes just like the rest of us.

#103 akp

akp

• Full Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 31 March 2007 - 11:39 AM

Just to clarify, constructive dismissal is when a person resigns from a job and then tries to argue at a tribunal that they had no other option and were forced into that position by the action of their employer. So, Orchestrator, I don't think that is what you mean unless you know something about Connie Fisher that the rest of us don't!

#104 Orchestrator

Orchestrator

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1028 posts

Posted 02 April 2007 - 07:07 PM

QUOTE(akp @ Mar 31 2007, 12:39 PM) View Post