• This topic is locked This topic is locked
15 replies to this topic

#1 an american in london

an american in london

• Full Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 September 2008 - 12:45 AM

Hello there and thanks for checking out my post.

I'm an American theatre student who is studying in this great city called London for the next few months.
I've seen some fantastic work here so far and am looking forward to taking it all in -- from the Globe to the West End to the Fringe circuit.  I want to see it all -- how fantastic to be in such a vibrant theatre capital.  It is certainly inspiring.  

Being abroad, the one thing I'm missing here is a communion with other theatre practicioners, artists, and creators.

My question is:  
Apart from rehearsal halls and onstage, where do all the artists go?
What pubs do the actors hang out in?  Where do the playwrights and the directors go on their off-days to discuss their ideas?  Where do the producers go to talk funding and money?   Where are the local haunts frequented by artists?  Or even, what area of London?

But is there such a place?  The tourism thing has gotten stale really quickly.  I suppose I'm envisioning some kind of romantic, fictionalized  Greenwich Village bar circa-1960 where I can wander in and be  surrounded by Andy Warhol or Allen Ginsberg or something.  I know  that's not going to happen, but I'd love to meet some cool cats anyway.  

I'd love to chat with some other young (or old) professionals about plays they've read, or shows they've seen, or new projects they are working on.  There's such a great creative buzz here that I feel like I've gotta meet some theatre folks or I'll keel over.

Thanks for reading my rant....

S.

#2 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 September 2008 - 09:25 AM