- - - - -

What Do You Do With A BA Hons Degree In Performance?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
15 replies to this topic

#1 akb

akb

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 05 October 2008 - 06:10 PM

I graduated with a good degree in Performing Arts this Summer, and am at a loss as to what to do with it. I started a PGCE in Secondary drama teaching and am really not enjoying it at all. I have had a week in school recently and just felt uneasy and uncomfortable throughout the entire week. I do not doubt for a second that teaching is a fantastic qualification to have but I just do not feel in the right place for this right now. But then I think I would regret it if i gave it up. So I am left thinking what do i do? I have two very pushy parents who will hate me and pretty much disown me if I drop it. And I dont want to let them down but i feel sick and emotional every time I think of teaching.

I know you can't tell me what to do but I just am at such a loss. Do I continue the course and just do it and get it out the way despite how its making me feel? Or do I quit now and look for a job that is more within my reach and enjoyment? And risk regretting it?

I have only just turned 21 and dont want to make doing anything I might disagree with in the future.......

At the same time, what ELSE can you do with a degree in something like performing arts other than TEACH?!?!

Please help!

#2 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 October 2008 - 06:33 PM

If you don't want to teach - don't teach. There is nothing worse for students than a teacher who really doesn't want to be there.

Ask yourself this: