8 replies to this topic

#1 cat123

cat123

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3354 posts

Posted 28 March 2009 - 01:04 PM

I'm not a performer and never ever will be, but still my dream job would be to work in costuming for theatre. I have a Fine Art degree (not fashion, sadly) and at the moment I mostly do ebroidary and quilt making as a hobby. I love the making side of things, though I'm no way a fashion designer (more of an embelisher. Sewing sequins on and the like!) I'm very open to working for free *anywhere* vaguely relevent to get some experience, I'm wondering what the best in road is. Is anyone here in the industry? Would my lack of specific qualifications and technical training work against me, or would enthusiasm and a willingness to learn be enough?

I've emailed a bunch of AmDram groups in my area about helping on their productions but so far that hasn't got me anywhere. I'm currently working on building up a portfolio of what I've done/can do and I'm trying to teach myself more technical sewing skills (rather than just winging it like I usually do! rolleyes.gif ) It's also occured to me to find out the names of wardrobe heads at theatres and write to them, but I don't know how I would do that and I'm not very good at being pushy.

I've rambled a lot without really saying anything, I know, but any help/advice would be very much appreciated. smile.gif

#2 bananafrit

bananafrit

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 730 posts

Posted 28 March 2009 - 02:29 PM

QUOTE(cat123 @ Mar 28 2009, 01:04 PM) View Post