#11 Reich

Reich

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1022 posts

Posted 21 April 2009 - 04:05 PM

QUOTE(Trev @ Apr 21 2009, 04:06 PM) View Post
Beat me to it. As a professional librarian I would ask exactly the same thing. Moving posts just to fill an underused section does mean that fewer people are likely to read it.

quite a few of us moaned at the time about the setting up of this section and perhaps the fact that this section is so under used demonstates the point.

could wos give us one of their explanations for this area?

Broadway has been very good to me. But then, I've been very good to broadway.

#12 Daniel

Daniel

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 272 posts

Posted 21 April 2009 - 05:14 PM

QUOTE(foxa @ Apr 18 2009, 10:37 AM) View Post
Saw the second preview of this and thought it had a lot to recommend it. It was my first trip to the Chocolate Factory and I did the meal deal (during previews this is 29 for a two course meal in their very pleasant restaurant - fantastic service, good Eton Mess - and tickets - probably not the best tickets, we were diagonally positioned towards the stage - but absolutely fine.) Every single seat in the theatre was filled.

It's a farce which depends on lots of door slamming and surprise entrances and offstage sound effects which I thought would be difficult in such a small space, but actually worked really well (very funny 'appearances' from an dog.) Edward Baker-Duly as the caddish Clive was excellent - and also sings very well (funny line when Gerald Popkiss complains about him holding Rhoda's hand 'trying to sing.' ) Mark Hadfield was also v. good and memorable in golfing shorts.

So for an absolutely light-hearted, escapist, trip back to another era (with daily women, cigarette cases and dressing gowns) this makes a fun evening out. My favourite bit was 'I found some biscuits' - when you see it, you'll know why.