- - - - -

Theatre For The Young - Can It Benefit And Teach Children Of Today?

Children Education School Student theatre drama learning

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 allakee

allakee

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Interests:Theatre, Drama, Stage Management, Learning

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:00 PM

I am a student currently researching for my dissertation about whether theatre for young people/children benefits them in any way and I have a few questions to ask which would really help if I got some responses too.

Firstly, do you think children learn from going to visit the theatre ?

Do you think theatre should be about fun and play or education and learning?

Can theatre teach? For example everyday life skills?

Should children learn about current affairs when they go to the theatre? Not simply to go to the theatre just to see fairy tales played out?

Has theatre changed from when you were younger?

If anyone who reads this has any comments or ideas on any of the above, even to a word or two would be enough as a reply. As I have written this to gain some knowledge about what others think theatre for children benefits? even if maybe you think it doesn't?

I would like any comments, thoughts and ideas with your replies so please do respond,

Many thanks

#2 Lynette

Lynette

Advanced Member

• Global Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 5150 posts

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:34 PM

Hi
Very interesting topic
We need your identity as far as is possible and the course you are doing and the qualification you are writing this for. I expect that many people onthis board will have opinions. But we don't like doing your homework for you. We need to know if you will quoting individual views- in other words much more info on you task and  methods etc.

#3 Epicoene

Epicoene

Advanced Member

• Full Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1240 posts

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:36 PM